computer freezes during inspection & shut down

brunogervais01's Avatar

brunogervais01

16 Dec, 2018 05:45 PM

Hi, I have a pretty big music library (390Gb) so that might be the reason I have issues.
Everytime I use Beatunes and want to analyze my library it takes several days (really) to do so. It then takes also a very long time (more than an hour sometimes to shut down the app and during the time Beatunes is in use my computer slows down until it sometimes freezes completely and I am force to force quit everything.
Any idea why it could be?
Thanks

  1. Support Staff 1 Posted by hendrik on 16 Dec, 2018 06:07 PM

    hendrik's Avatar

    I have a pretty big music library (390Gb)

    How many songs is that?

    analyze my library it takes several days (really)

    Analysis is expected to take long, however, inspection should be quick. Just to be sure: do you mean analysis or inspection?

    Any idea why it could be?

    Perhaps the internal database is in bad shape. Have you tried repairing it? It's possible via the Tools menu.

  2. 2 Posted by brunogervais01 on 16 Dec, 2018 07:40 PM

    brunogervais01's Avatar

    Hi, so my library is 31.887 tracks
    Analysis takes a very long time (days)
    inspection takes about 20 to 30 mn
    I'll try the repair and be back to you.
    Thanks

  3. Support Staff 3 Posted by hendrik on 18 Dec, 2018 06:46 PM

    hendrik's Avatar

    I'll try the repair and be back to you.

    Sounds good.

  4. 4 Posted by brunogervais01 on 02 Jan, 2019 09:52 PM

    brunogervais01's Avatar

    Hi, so I did rebuilt my library and just when I thought everything was fin (I mean it takes still several days to analyze the whole library), I started to receive different kinds of error messages.
    Thank for your help and happy new year!

  5. Support Staff 5 Posted by hendrik on 03 Jan, 2019 08:19 AM

    hendrik's Avatar

    I mean it takes still several days to analyze the whole library

    Analysis is a slow process, since all audio data must be loaded and processed. This will never be fast. But you should not need to do this more than once.

    Inspection on the other hand should be fairly quick.

    Please send your logs (http://help.beatunes.com/kb/troubleshooting/where-are-the-beatunes-...).

    Thanks!

  6. 6 Posted by brunogervais01 on 07 Jan, 2019 07:02 PM

    brunogervais01's Avatar

    hi... here are the logs

  7. Support Staff 7 Posted by hendrik on 10 Jan, 2019 01:15 PM

    hendrik's Avatar

    Hey,

    it looks like the logs were produced too long after the error occurred. Please reproduce the issue and then send fresh logs right away.

    Thank you,

    -hendrik

  8. 8 Posted by brunogervais01 on 14 Jan, 2019 07:51 PM

    brunogervais01's Avatar

    Hi, Hendrik, So I still receive that pop up window...
    I sent u the logs also
    Thanks

  9. Support Staff 9 Posted by hendrik on 14 Jan, 2019 09:29 PM

    hendrik's Avatar

    Hey,

    thanks for the new screenshots and logs. The internal database is corrupted. This can happen when beaTunes is not properly shut down.

    To fix this, open the Tools menu and choose Repair Database. It is possible that the repair fails. Then you will have to rebuild the database based on what's in your audio files. If you have checked the option Embed non-iTunes fields (in beaTunes general preferences) before analysis, most values can be restored. For more info see https://blog.beatunes.com/2013/10/so-where-exactly-does-beatunes-st...

    Hope this helps,

    -hendrik

Reply to this discussion

Internal reply

Formatting help / Preview (switch to plain text) No formatting (switch to Markdown)

Attaching KB article:

»

Attached Files

You can attach files up to 10MB

If you don't have an account yet, we need to confirm you're human and not a machine trying to post spam.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac